Forgot your password?

Canadian Historical Association Awards 2014

A “sweeping and disturbing account" of the devastating impacts of colonization on First Nations of the plains has captured the 2014 Governor General's History Award for Scholarly Research: the Sir John A. Macdonald Prize — awarded annually to the best academic book on Canadian history.

Clearing the Plains

Judges said Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life, by James Daschuk, “chronicles the role that epidemic disease, global trade, the changing environment and government policy had on the lives of Aboriginals living on the Canadian Plains from the early eighteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. Daschuk skilfully draws on ethnohistory, medical history, environmental history, economic history and political economy to present a compelling overall analysis."

The Sir John A Macdonald Prize is presented by the Canadian Historical Association, with the support of Manulife Financial. Daschuk will receive his award from the Right Honourable David Johnston this November at the Governor General's History Awards, administered by Canada's History Society.

Shortlisted for the Canadian Historical Association’s top book prize were:

The Sir John A. Macdonald Prize is one of a host of awards handed out each year during the Canadian Historical Association annual conference, this year held at Brock University on May 27, 2014. In a way, it’s the Oscars of the academic historian set — a time to praise the best in book and article writing and research. A host of prizes were handed out during the ceremony. The full list of winners is as follows:

Ferguson Prize for best book on non-Canadian history

Mark Salber Phillips, On Historical Distance. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2013.

Jean-Marie-Fecteau Prize for best article published in a peer-reviewed journal by a PhD or Masters-level student in English or in French.

Alexandre Turgeon, « “Toé, tais-toé!” et la Grande Noirceur duplessiste. Genèse d’un mythistoire » Histoire sociale/Social History Vol. XLVI, no 92 (Novembre / November 2013).

JCHA, issues #1 and #2 Best Article Prize

Winner: Madeline Rose Knickerbocker. “What We’ve Said Can Be Proven In The Ground: Stó:Lō Sovereignty And Historical Narratives At Xá:Ytem, 1990-2006 " in JCHA/RSHC volume 1

Bullen Prize

Nicholas Paul May, Feasting on the Arm of Heaven: the Christianization of the Nisga’a 1860-1920 Département d’histoire de l’Université de Toronto

Clio Prizes (These annual awards are given for meritorious publications or for exceptional contributions by individuals or organizations to regional history

Atlantic Region

Renée N. Lafferty, The Guardianship of Best Interests. Institutional Care for the Children of the Poor in Halifax, 1850-1960.


Mario Mimeault. L’exode québécois, 1852-1925. Correspondence d’une famille dispersée en Amérique. (Septentrion, 2013)


William Jenkins, Between Raid and Rebellion: the Irish in Buffalo and Toronto, 1867-1916 (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2013)

The Prairies

James Dashuk. Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life. (University of Regina Press, 2013).

British Columbia

Sean Kheraj, Inventing Stanley Park: An Environmental History (UBC Press, 2013).

Lifetime Achievement Award

Jean Wilson: Arguably Jean Wilson has had a larger impact on the writing of British Columbia History than any other single person, a claim that is certainly true for the decades 1988-2008. Jean Wilson has been midwife to hundreds of books of BC History over an outstanding career as Associate Director, Acquisitions of UBC Press. Jean is one of Canada’s most preeminent editors, universally admired by members of the Canadian book publishing community, and has been an ally to just about every scholar of B.C. history, no matter the field.

Social History Best Article Prize

Brian Gettler, “Money and the Changing Nature of Colonial Space in Northern Quebec: Fur Trade Monopolies, the State, and Aboriginal Peoples during the Nineteenth Century.”

CHR Best Article Prize

Sean Mills, “Quebec, Haiti, and the Deportation Crisis of 1974” (#94.3, September 2013)

Media and Communication History Committee - Best Graduate Student Paper Prize

Rafico Ruiz, "The Moving Image on the North Atlantic, 1930-1950"

Prix Eugene Forsey Prize (Awarded by the Canadian Committee on Labour for graduate and undergraduate work on Canadian labour and working-class history

Bruno-Pierre Guillette. « "Le Jour du Seigneur vendu à l’encan": regard sur la Commission d’enquête sur l’observance du dimanche dans les industries de pâtes et papiers du Québec (1964-1966), » Mémoire de maîtrise, 2012, Université du Québec à Montréal.

Neil Sutherland Prize for the Best Scholarly Article published on the History of Children and Youth

Jennifer Robin Terry, “‘They ‘Used to Tear Around the Campus Like Savages’: Children’s and Youth’s Activities in the San Tomas Internment Camp, 1942-1945,” The Journal of the History of Childhood and Youth 5, no. 1 (Winter 2012).

Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism Article Prize

Sean Mills, “Quebec, Haiti, and the Deportation Crisis of 1974” (Histoire sociale / Social History, 94.3, September 2013)

The Canadian Committee on the History of Sexuality Best article prize

Valerie Korinek, “‘We’re the girls of the pansy parade’: Historicizing Winnipeg’s Queer Subcultures, 1930s–1970,” Histoire sociale/Social History 45(May 2012).

Prix Hilda Neatby Prize (Awarded by the Canadian Committee on Women’s History, it recognises each year the best articles in French and English on women's history

Winner (English): Adele Perry, “James Douglas, Amelia Connolly, and the Writing of Gender and Women's History” (In Catherine Carstairs and Nancy Janovicek, Feminist History in Canada. New Essays on Women, Gender, Work, and Nation. UBC Press, 2013 )

Winner (French): Thierry Nootens, « Des privations ne peuvent pas constituer une fortune » : Les droits financiers des femmes mariées de la bourgeoisie québécoise face au marché , 1900-1930 (Revue d’histoire de l’Amérique française, vol. 65, numéro 1, été 2011)

Hilda Neatby Book Prize

Robertson, Leslie A. with the Kwagu’ł Gixsam Clan, Standing Up with Ga’axsta’las: Jane Constance Cook and the Politics of Memory, Church, and Custom.

Public History Prize

Ronald Rudin, Philip Lichti, and the Archinodes Lab, Returning the Voices to Kouchibouguac National Park.

Political History Group - Best Article in English Prize

Sean Mills, “Quebec, Haiti, and the Deportation Crisis of 1974” (Histoire sociale / Social History, 94.3, September 2013)

Political History Group Book Prize

Dimitry Anastakis, Autonomous State: The Struggle for a Canadian Car Industry from OPEC to Free Trade (UTP, 2013).

Aboriginal History Prizes - Best Article Prize

Isaiah Lorado Wilner, "A Global Potlatch," American Indian Culture and Research Journal 37, no. 2 (2013).

Aboriginal History Prizes - Book Prize

James Daschuk, Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life. Regina: University of Regina Press, 2013.

Support history Right Now! Donate
© Canada's History 2016
Feedback Analytics