PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL HERITAGE FAIRS

For over 20 years, provincial and territorial coordinators have been overseeing the heritage fairs in their region. These organizations have produced many resources to help students and teachers get the most out of their heritage fair experience. Here is a list of provincial and territorial organizations, with links to their websites, resources, and coordinator emails. Meet the Heritage Fair family!

B.C. Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Becky Burns: beckyburns@hotmail.com
Select Resources: Student Exemplars, B.C. Curriculum Links, Teachers' Manual

 

Manitoba - Red River Heritage Fair

Provincial Coordinators:
James Dykstra: james@dykstra@shaw.ca
Marie Zorniak: zorniak@shaw.ca

                                                      Select Resources: Teacher Manual, Student Workbook

 

New Brunswick Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Cynthia Wallace-Casey: Cynthia.Wallace-Casey@gnb.ca
Select Resources: Heritage Fair Project Storyboard, Judging Questions

 

Newfoundland and Labrador Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Andrea MacDonald: director@historicsites.ca
Select Resources: Planning a Regional Fair, Planning a School Fair

 

Northwest Territories Heritage Fair Society

Territorial Coordinator: Monique Marinier: monique.marinier@yk1.nt.ca
Select Resources: Teachers' Manual, Heritage Fairs Best Practices, Skills for Elementary Student Research Projects

 

Nova Scotia Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Marg Forbes: raforbes@ns.sympatico.ca

Select Resources: Planning a Heritage Fair, Judging Questions for Students, Judging Rubric

 

 

Nunavut Heritage Fairs

Territorial Coordinator: Ken Beardsall: KIBeardsall@GOV.NU.CA
Selected Resources: How to Develop a Heritage Fair Project

 

Ontario Heritage Fairs Association

Provincial Coordinators:
Carol White: cwhite@ohfa.ca
Wayne Hugli: whugli@ohfa.ca

Select Resources: Ontario Curriculum Links, Independent Study Guide, Information for Teachers

 

Prince Edward Island Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Charlotte Stewart : clstewart@gov.pe.ca
Select Resources: Organizing a School Fair, Student Guide to Sources, Judges Rubric

 

Quebec

Provincial Coordinator: Jean-Philippe Proulx: jpproulx@canadashistory.ca

 

Saskatchewan Heritage Fairs

Provincial Coordinator: Heritage Saskatchewan: kgilks@heritagesask.ca
Select Resources:Inquiry Learning, Project Guidelines

 

Yukon Heritage Fairs

Territorial Coordinator: Lianne Maitland: info@heritageyukon.ca
Select Resources: Information for Teachers

Sponsors: Great West Life and Canadian Heritage Sign up for the Heritage Fair newsletter
Project partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage.
  • Canadian Heritage / Patrimoine Canadien
  • Government of Canada
  • HBC: Hudson's Bay Company
  • ecentricarts inc.