Forgot your password?

Home  /  Awards  /  Popular Media
Popular Media Shortlist Covers
2012 Pierre Berton Award winners
2011 Winners of the Pierre Berton Award
Governor General's Award for Popular Media

The Governor General's History Award for Popular Media: The Pierre Berton Award celebrates those who have brought Canadian history to a wider audience. Now accepting nominations for the 2014 award!


Past Winners of the Pierre Berton Award

Over the past decade, acclaimed historian and author Tim Cook has championed the cause of making military history more accessible, vivid and factual.

The DCB/DBC is an extraordinary combination of scholarship and accessibility, making it our country's most reliable biographical source of information on the great names of our shared past.


In the delicious fashion of home movies, host Marcel Sabourin and well-known personalities have presented family moments ranging from marriages, making maple syrup, and watching Rocket Richard in Madison Square Garden.

Steady scholarship, dry wit and an appetite for public debate are the qualities that made Professor Desmond Morton the 2010 winner of the Pierre Berton Award.

Fascinated with storytelling, individual experience, and Canadian symbols, Paul Gross, actor, filmmaker, screenwriter, in his multiple works, has been single-minded in highlighting subjects from the Canadian past.

In 2008, the group behind the Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History Project won for their critical-thinking tool in the form of historical "cold cases." Launched in 1997 for Canadian secondary-school students, the site has become a major force in online education.

The Governor General’s History Award for Popular Media: the Pierre Berton Award is presented by Canada's History.

The Governor General's Awards program and National History Forum are generously supported by:

TD Financial Group
Enbridge Canadian War Museum | Musee Canadien de la guerre
Canadian Heritage

Support history Right Now! Donate
© Canada's History 2014
Feedback Analytics