Forgot your password?

Home  /  Awards  /  Other Awards

Prime Minister’s Awards

Logo: Government of CanadaSponsored by the Government of Canada, these award recipients are recognized as exceptionally innovative leaders who help students excel and young children get the best possible start in life. There are two categories: one for Excellence in Early Childhood Education and one for Teaching Excellence.

Eligibility and Conditions: Submissions can be made in either official language; deadline is April 14, 2014. All winners receive a certificate, a pin and a letter from the Prime Minister. Certificates of Excellence are each worth $5,000 and are shared equally between the winners and their schools or childcare institutions. Certificates of Achievement are each worth $1,000 and are given directly to recipients.

To learn more, go to Prime Minister's Awards.

Action CanadaAction Canada

Action Canada provides a unique opportunity for young professionals to develop leadership skills and explore Canadian public policy, while networking with some of
the country’s top leaders.

The fellowship program is centered on five intensive working conferences (four to six days each) held across Canada throughout the year. The conferences feature some of Canada’s most distinguished leaders and policy-makers who act as mentors to the program Fellows.

Fellows also work together on a special project addressing a current issue or topic in Canadian policy. This year’s guiding question is: Does Canada have the education systems it needs to meet the economic and societal challenges of the future?

Eligibility and Conditions: Open to Canadians of any age and education, and is geared towards emerging leaders at the early stages of their career. Candidates must first be nominated through the online form. All nominees will then be contacted to complete their application.

To learn more about application requirements and criteria, go to

Vimy Pilgrimage AwardVimy Pilgrimage Award
for Outstanding Youth Leadership and Service

The Vimy Pilgrimage Award recognizes the actions of young people who demonstrate outstanding service, positive contributions, notable deeds, bravery or leadership. Their acts may have served their peers, schools, communities, province or country. Scholastic achievement is not a criterion for this award.

Eligibility and Conditions: Open to Canadian students ages 14 through 17. Applicants are required to submit a motivation letter (500-word maximum) outlining the reasons why they are worthy of the award, plus two letters of support. Essays can be submitted in either official language.

To learn more, go to Vimy Pilgrimage Award.

HKVCA Cross Canada Writing Contest

Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative AssociationThis contest, called Portraits of Valour, is an opportunity to learn about the 1941 Battle of Hong Kong, and the soldiers who fought in that battle. Students are asked to choose one of the five soldiers listed as their topic. All are deserving of attention, there is no wrong choice.

Eligibility and Conditions: Open to high school history students across the country (Junior High category: Grades 9 and 10; Senior High category: Grades 11 and 12). Submissions can be made in either official language, with a submission deadline of May 24, 2014. There are four prizes in total: $200 and $100 in the senior category; $150 and $75 in the junior category.

Winners will be notified before the end of the school year, and winning entries will be published on the Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association website.

To learn more, go to HKVCA Cross Canada Writing Contest.

THEN/HiER Book, Article and Dissertation Prizes

THEN/HiERPrizes are being offered for works which make a significant contribution to understanding the teaching, learning, and assessment of history in Canada, whether published in Canada or elsewhere.

Eligibilities and Conditions: Authors, or others who nominate them, may submit three hard copies of a book or dissertation, or one copy of an article by email attachment, to the adjudication committee for consideration by June 28, 2013. Submissions for articles and books are to have been published in the previous calendar year (2012). In odd years, like 2013 we will be awarding a prize to a English-language dissertation only. Even years we will award a prize to a French-language dissertation.

To learn more, visit THEN/HiER.

Support history Right Now! Donate
© Canada's History 2016
Feedback Analytics